“MORNING STAR of David

‘I JESUS —AM THE ROOT AND THE OFFSPRING OF DAVID, AND THE BRIGHT AND MORNING STAR.” REV. 22:16

worship14

Tensions in the Middle East are escalating as Syria threatens the Golan Heights. The Israeli soldiers are again occupying bunkers that they have not occupied for 40 years since the 1973 conflict in the region. The Golan Heights has been a relatively peaceful part of Israel but this new threat is changing that. There is no doubt that God’s focus for the end times is going to be in the Middle East. That is why anything that happens there will affect the whole world eventually.

There has been much written lately about the blood moons (lunar eclipses) that will take place around the time of the Passover this year in April. Perhaps in some future posts I will go deeper into this and give you more info on it. But for now –we know that, without a doubt, the world is crisis. There is the Ukraine and now the disappearance of flight 370. No one knows for sure what any of this means on a global scale only time will tell. wpstormclouds

I’d like to share this hymn with you today–“How Lovely Shines the Morning star”

This hymn was written by Philipp Nicolai who was a pastor in Unna Germany. During this time a terrible plague hit his town. From his window that over looked the town cemetery he watched as dozens men, women, and children were laid to rest. As many as 30 in a day at times. What a gloomy sight that must have been. Every home in his town was in mourning.

It was a difficult time to be a pastor. What words of comfort could he give in the face of such a vicious foe? What hope could he give to those who were sick and dying? What Word from God could he communicate to his people that give the strength in the face of this grave enemy?

This is what he said–“There seemed to me nothing more sweet, delightful, and agreeable than the contemplation of the noble, sublime Doctrine of Eternal Life obtained through  the Blood of Christ. This allowed to dwell in my heart day and night.”

Even in the darkest of times, those of us who have accepted Christ as our Savior, can be encouraged by the thought that this life is not all there is. We have a whole eternity to look forward to. A bright and shining future. Because Jesus died and shed His blood for our sins and rose again the third day to give us eternal life. Praise God!thCAMTZA7I

 

How lovely shines the Morning Star!

The nations see and hail afar

The Light in Judah shining.

Thou David’s son of Jacob’s race,

My Bridegroom and my King of Grace,

For Thee my heart is pining.

Lowly, Holy, Great, and glorious,

Thou victorious Prince of Graces,

Filling all the heavenly places.

 

Now richly to my waiting heart,

O, Thou, my God, deign to impart

The grace of love undying.

In Thy blest body let me be,

Even as the branch is in the tree,

The life my life supplying.

Sighing, crying for the savor

Of Thy favor; resting never

Till I rest in Thee forever.

 

Thou Mighty Father, in Thy Son

Didst love me ere Thou hast begun

This ancient world’s foundation.

Thy Son hath made a friend of me,

And when in spirit Him I see,

I joy in tribulation.

What bliss is this! G=He that liveth

To me giveth life forever;

Nothing me from Him can sever.

                                 Philipp Nicolai  1556-1608

 

Thanks for taking the time to read this and God bless!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.